Satellite Warnings
7 Day Forecast 7 Day Forecast

LSU Football reports to campus on Wednesday

Tuesday, August 2, 2011 - 4:14pm

LSU begins its preparations for the 2011 season on Wednesday as the Tigers report to campus for the start of preseason camp.

LSU returns 16 starters (9 offense, 7 defense) and a total of 52 letterwinners from last year’s team that posted an 11-2 overall mark and capped the year ranked No. 8 in the final polls after the 41-24 win over Texas A&M in the Cotton Bowl.

LSU will use Wednesday as a day of orientation as the team will check-in to West Campus Apartments in the morning, while the afternoon will be used for football-related activities. The players will undergo physicals with the training staff and team doctors during the afternoon as well as getting fitted for equipment.

LSU will hold its first practice on Thursday morning as the veterans will workout at the Charles McClendon Practice Facility. The freshmen, along with selected veterans, will practice on Thursday afternoon in what will be the first of two days of split-squad workouts.

The first two days of practice will have the team working out in shorts and helmets before adding shoulder pads in days three and four. The team will dress out in full pads for the first time on Monday, Aug. 8.

The Tigers open their seventh season under head coach Les Miles on Sept. 3 when LSU travels to Arlington, Texas, to face Oregon in the Cowboys Classic. The contest will televised nationally by ABC, marking the fifth straight year that LSU opens the season on national television.

LSU Camp Dates To Remember

Thurs., Aug. 4: First day of practice

Sat., Aug. 6 First full squad practice

Tues., Aug. 9 LSU Media Day

Sat.., Aug. 13 First scrimmage of fall camp

LSU Fan Day at Maravich Center and Field House

Thurs., Aug. 18 Scrimmage

Mon., Aug. 22 First day of classes at LSU

Tues., Aug. 23 Final scrimmage of fall camp

Mon., Aug. 29 First Les Miles Weekly Press Conference

Fri., Sept. 2 Team departs for Cowboys Classic in Arlington, Texas

Sat., Sept. 3 Season-Opener: LSU vs. Oregon

Sports

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment