OUACHITA PARISH, LA (FOX44) -- A 51-year old man was arrested for his fifth DWI on Tuesday, Sept. 6. Jerry R. McAdams of Downsville, La. could face between 10-30 years in prison.
Agents with the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries pulled McAdams over on Tuesday at the Russell Sage Wildlife Management Area (WMA) to ask about his self-clearing permit. That’s when they noticed that he was intoxicated. McAdams did not have a valid driver’s license and was in violation of WMA rules and regulations.
McAdams was taken to the Ouachita Parish Correctional Center where he submitted a breath sample and showed that he was over the legal blood alcohol limit.
According to Louisiana law, a fourth DWI offense or any subsequent conviction is a felony punishable by imprisonment between 10 and 30 years and up to a $5,000 fine. Failing to abide by WMA rules and regulations brings a fine up to $350, or up to 60 days in jail, or both plus court cost. Operating a vehicle without a valid driver’s license is a fine up to $175, and up to 30 days in jail, or both plus court cost.