La'Roi Glover to be inducted into Saints Hall of Fame

Pete Finney to receive Gemelli Fleur de Lis award

Friday, March 8, 2013 - 2:15pm

Former New Orleans Saints defensive tackle La’Roi Glover has been elected to the Saints Hall of Fame for the Class of 2013. Glover was the lone choice of the Saints Hall of Fame Media Selection Committee.

A native of San Diego, Calif., Glover was picked in the fifth round of the 1996 NFL draft out of San Diego State by the Oakland Raiders. After one season with the Raiders and after playing for Barcelona of the World League of American Football, Glover was acquired by the New Orleans Saints off of waivers from the Raiders at the end of the 1997 preseason.

He played five seasons with the Saints (1997-2001) and amassed 50 sacks and forced 10 fumbles, averaging 10 sacks per season.  In 1998, Glover posted 10 sacks and three forced fumbles as he was selected an Associated Press second-team All-Pro. In 2000, Glover had a league-high 17 sacks, the second-most by an NFL defensive lineman at the time, and was named a unanimous first-team All-Pro and earned a Pro Bowl berth as he helped lead the Saints to a division championship and first-ever playoff win. In 2001, Glover had eight sacks and earned his second Pro Bowl honor. Upon leaving the Saints, Glover earned four consecutive Pro Bowl honors with the Dallas Cowboys (2002-2005) and was named All-Pro in 2002 and 2003. He finished his 13-year NFL career with the St. Louis Rams (2006-2008). Glover was named to the NFL’s All-Decade team of the 2000s.

Long-time sports journalist Peter Finney Sr. has been chosen to receive the prestigious Joe Gemelli Fleur de Lis award, presented to an individual who has contributed to the betterment of the New Orleans Saints and has supported the franchise over an extended period of time in his or her endeavors.

A native of New Orleans, Finney attended Jesuit High School and played basketball at Loyola University. He started his journalism career in 1945 with the now defunct States-Item upon graduating from Jesuit. He has worked in the industry ever since in an illustrious career spanning 68 years, including for the Times-Picayune since it merged with the States-Item in 1980.

Finney is a member of four area Halls of Fame. He has received the prestigious Dick McCann Memorial Award from the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2010 and will receive the A.J. Liebling Award for outstanding boxing writing from the Boxing Writers Association of America in April.

The induction will take place at a date to be determined during the 2013 NFL season.

The Saints Hall of Fame Museum is located at Gate B on the Plaza Level of the Mercedes-Benz Superdome and is open by appointment during the week (Monday-Friday) between 10 a.m.-3 p.m. at a cost of $7 per person or $5 for seniors, children under 12 and for groups of 10 or more. For more information, call (504) 471-2192.


LA’ROI GLOVER (1997-2001—5 seasons)
**Had 6.5 sacks in 1997
**Had 10 sacks, 3 forced fumbles, 1 interception in 1998
**Had 8.5 sacks, 1 forced fumble, 1 fumble recovery in 1999
**Had 17 sacks, second most by NFL defensive lineman, 1 forced fumble, 1 fumble recovery in 2000
**Named 2nd-Team All-Pro in 1998
**Named 1st-Team All-Pro in 2000, named to Pro Bowl
**Had 8 sacks in 2001, named to 2nd Pro Bowl as a Saint
**Finished with 318 tackles, 50 sacks, 10 forced fumbles, 5 fumble recoveries in 5 seasons with Saints

1988—Archie Manning and Danny Abramowicz
1989—Tommy Myers and Tom Dempsey
1990—Billy Kilmer
1991—Tony Galbreath and Derland Moore
1992—George Rogers, Jake Kupp and John Hill
1993—Joe Federspiel
1994—Henry Childs and Jim Finks
1995—Doug Atkins and Bob Pollard
1996—Dave Whitsell and Dave Waymer
1997—Stan Brock and Rickey Jackson
1998—Dalton Hilliard and Sam Mills
1999—Bobby Hebert and Eric Martin
2000—Pat Swilling and Vaughan Johnson
2001—Jim Wilks and Hoby Brenner
2002—Jim Mora and Frank Warren
2003—Jim Dombrowski and Wayne Martin
2004—Rueben Mayes and Steve Sidwell
**2005—No induction due to Hurricane Katrina 
2006—Joel Hilgenberg
2007—Joe Johnson
2008—William Roaf
2009—Morten Andersen
2010—Joe Horn
2011—Sammy Knight
2012—Tom Benson and Deuce McAllister

1989—Al Hirt
1990—Joe Gemelli (award later named for him)
1991—Dave Dixon
1992—Charlie Kertz
1993—Wayne Mack
1994—Erby Aucoin
1995—Aaron Broussard
1996—Marie Knutson
1997—Angela Hill
1998—Joe Impastato
1999—Frank Wilson
2000—Bob Remy
2001—Peter “Champ” Clark
2002—Dean Kleinschmidt
2003—Jim Fast
2004—Bob Roesler
2005—NO INDUCTEES due to Hurricane Katrina
2006—Buddy Diliberto
2007—New Orleans Saints Fans (Marcy Beter)
2008—Barra Birrcher
2009—Jerry Romig
2010—Dan Simmons and Glennon “Silky” Powell
2011—Bruce Miller
2012—Jim Henderson


Comments News Comments

Post new Comment