LSU quarterback Zach Mettenberger named to Maxwell Award watch list

Photo provided by staff
Monday, July 8, 2013 - 8:55pm

LSU senior quarterback Zach Mettenberger was named to the watch list for the 77th annual Maxwell Award, presented to college football’s player of the year, the Maxwell Football Club announced Monday morning.

Mettenberger is one of a nation-leading 16 Southeastern Conference players on the list, which includes seven quarterbacks.

Mettenberger, a native of Watkinsville, Ga., is coming off a junior campaign where he threw for 2,609 yards and 12 touchdowns on 207-of-352 passing. He joined Matt Flynn (2007) and Warren Rabb (1958) as the only first-year starting quarterbacks in LSU history to lead the Tigers to double-figure victories.

He threw just seven interceptions all of 2012, while his 50:1 ratio of passes to interceptions rates as the best for a single-season in school history for quarterbacks with at least 300 attempts. Mettenberger’s passing yards and completions last season were both fifth in LSU single-season annals.

Mettenberger heads into his senior campaign after an impressive spring under first-year LSU offensive coordinator Cam Cameron. He will lead a Tiger offense that returns two of the SEC’s top wide receivers in juniors Odell Beckham Jr. and Jarvis Landry.

The Maxwell Award, named in honor of Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell, has been given to America's College Player of the Year since 1937. The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee, which analyzes both past performance and future potential.

The winner of the 2013 Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 5 at Walt Disney World Resort.

2013 Maxwell Award Watch List

First Last Position School Class
Ameer Abdullah RB Nebraska Junior
Antonio Andrews RB Western Kentucky Senior
Dri Archer RB Kent State Senior
David Ash QB Texas Junior
Anthony Barr LB UCLA Senior
Blake Bell QB Oklahoma Junior
Beau Blankenship RB Ohio Senior
Blake Bortles QB UCF Junior
Tajh Boyd QB Clemson Senior
Teddy Bridgewater QB Louisville Junior
Kolton Browning QB UL-Monroe Senior
Ka'Deem Carey RB Arizona Junior
Derek Carr QB Fresno State Senior
Kasey Carrier RB New Mexico Senior
Rakeem Cato QB Marshall Junior
Jadeveon Clowney DE South Carolina Junior
Brandin Cooks WR Oregon State Junior
Amari Cooper WR Alabama Sophomore
Stefon Diggs WR Maryland Sophomore
Kenneth Dixon RB Louisiana Tech Sophomore
Jeff Driskel QB Florida Junior
Mike Evans WR Texas A&M Sophomore
Cody Fajardo QB Nevada Junior
David Fales QB San Jose State Senior
David Fluellen RB Toledo Senior
Devin Gardner QB Michigan Senior
Marion Grice RB Arizona State Senior
Todd Gurley RB Georgia Sophomore
Kevin Hogan QB Stanford Sophomore
John Hubert RB Kansas State Senior
Brett Hundley RB UCLA Sophomore
Carlos Hyde RB Ohio State Senior
Duke Johnson RB Miami Sophomore
Chuckie Keeton QB Utah State Junior
Taylor Kelly QB Arizona State Junior
Marqise Lee WR USC Junior
Taylor Lewan OT Michigan Senior
Jordan Lynch QB Northern Illinois Senior
Johnny Manziel QB Texas A&M Sophomore
Marcus Mariota QB Oregon Sophomore
Venric Mark RB Northwestern Senior
Taylor Martinez QB Nebraska Senior
Jordan Matthews WR Vanderbilt Senior
Jake Matthews OT Texas A&M Senior
AJ McCarron QB Alabama Senior
Zach Mettenberger QB LSU Senior
Stephen Morris QB Miami Senior
C.J. Mosley LB Alabama Senior
Adam Muema RB San Diego State Junior
Aaron Murray QB Georgia Senior
Louis Nix III DT Notre Dame Senior
Branden Oliver RB Buffalo Senior
Casey Pachall QB TCU Senior
LaDarius Perkins RB Mississippi State Senior
Keith Price QB Washington Senior
Silas Redd RB USC Senior
Bryn Renner QB North Carolina Senior
Tyler Russell QB Mississippi State Senior
Bishop Sankey RB Washington Junior
Lache Seastrunk RB Baylor Junior
Charles Sims RB West Virginia Senior
Jerome Smith RB Syracuse Senior
Will Sutton DT Arizona State Senior
De'Anthony Thomas RB Oregon Junior
Logan Thomas QB Virginia Tech Senior
Zurlon Tipton RB Central Michigan Senior
Stephon Tuitt DE Notre Dame Junior
Bo Wallace QB Ole Miss Junior
Sammy Watkins WR Clemson Junior
Trey Watts RB Tulsa Senior
Keith Wenning QB Ball State Senior
James White RB Wisconsin Senior
David Yankey OG Stanford Senior
T.J. Yeldon RB Alabama Sophomore
Zach Zwinak RB Penn State Senior


Comments News Comments

Post new Comment